U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

563. What is the structure of a digital currency address on OFAC’s SDN List?


Digital currency addresses listed on the SDN List include their unique alphanumeric identifier (up to 256 characters) and identify the digital currency to which the address corresponds (e.g., Bitcoin (XBT), Ethereum (ETH), Litecoin (LTC), Neo (NEO), Dash (DASH), Ripple (XRP), Iota (MIOTA), Monero (XMR), and Petro (PTR)). Each digital currency address listed on the SDN list will have its own field: the structure will always begin with “Digital Currency Address”, followed by a dash and the digital currency’s symbol (e.g., “Digital Currency Address - XBT”, “Digital Currency Address - ETH”). This information is followed by the unique alphanumeric identifier of the specific address.

Date Released
June 6, 2018